green, starchy, and green and starchy

Green. This one’s from a while ago:

Basically there’s nothing interesting besides – fiddlehead ferns! (Actually, I think that chicken was really good… having a probe thermometer makes a really big difference.) They’re only available like two weeks out of the year, so it was pretty exciting. They taste pretty good… really green.

Starchy. And this one I made like two days ago – it’s INSANELY EASY. And seriously delicious, obviously, since it’s fresh bread: warm, soft, yeasty, a little crunchy…

A fellow philosopher recommended the recipe(ss), and as he explained, “I didn’t know how they got the ‘pocket’ to happen, but I made it, and it just happened!” Reminds me of poori. But yeah, they just inflate in the oven! It’s amazing and wonderful. If you do make them (which you obviously should), the most important part for me was wrapping them with damp paper towels right when they get out, otherwise they are too crunchy and probably wouldn’t be pliable. I couldn’t make whole wheat ones because I couldn’t find either whole wheat bread flour or gluten at my local grocery store.

But seriously, it’s UNBELIEVABLY EASY. A one-armed infant monkey could make them. (Well maybe not, but they are really easy…)

And of course I made hummus to eat with them, but I guess I don’t have a picture of that. It looks like hummus. But I think it’s pretty good – I’ve combined some different recipes into one I like a lot: besides basic stuff (tahini, chickpeas, garlic, salt), it has yogurt (for creaminess), olive oil, and lots of cayenne and some fresh mint (heats you up, then cools you down!).

Green and starchy. As you may recall from this post, I sometimes make pasta. So I finally decided to try spinach pasta, and it’s (1) beautiful, and (2) really, really delicious. These pictures are from, uh, March maybe? I used Marcella Hazan’s recipe (if that weren’t obvious, since basically everything that I make that’s Italian is from her cookbooks).

This + tomato-onion-butter sauce = silky, to die for.

Also my adviser said that I have to make a couple of Marcella’s recipes for artichokes… so I guess I have to learn to like those. I trust Marcella… maybe my adviser, we’ll see.

P.S. There’s now a ‘cooking’ category and tag, so here’s a link to all the cooking posts over the past 2.5 years.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Kathie King on November 3, 2011 at 10:42 am

    makes me hungry just looking at it

Leave a Reply

