the most amazing ice cream recipe book

So I went to a conference in Princeton a few weeks ago, and another graduate student recommended this ice cream recipe book to me. (I have the ice cream maker attachment for my KitchenAid stand mixer.)  So I got it, and it’s simply amazing.

A selection of recipes: pear-pecorino, saffron, black pepper, malted milk, goat cheese, avocado, and also classic flavors that you’d expect.  Plus there’s a whole section on sorbets, granitas, extras for putting *in* the ice cream (like candied citrus peels, hot chocolate drizzles, etc.)… and the first recipe Dana and I made was milk chocolate ice cream.  It was really, really good.  I’d never had milk chocolate ice cream before…. it’s SO milky.  We used Lindt milk chocolate bars (>30% cocoa solids) and Ghirardelli dark chocolate for the slivers.

Also, by the way: turns out that good ice cream is really unhealthy.

I hope the picture below has captured a fraction of the awesomeness.

UPDATE: The book is The Perfect Scoop by David Liebovitz.

Leave a Reply

