broken venetian blinds: the new trend

The new building at Brown, apparently called the Granoff Center:

When I saw the building being erected on Brown’s campus, I thought, “What the hell is that?”  I like (love? am slightly obsessed with?) modern architecture, but you can infer my feelings about this building from the title.  And it’s almost completed.  You can see on the webcam (what.).

Then, I saw this, a new boutique in Hollywood:

Is it me or has the world gone mad?

Also, in my search for images for this post, I discovered that the Brown building is by Diller Scofidio + Renfro.  Jesus!  I like them, but whoa.  Shocking on two accounts: First, for some reason, nobody seems interested that this is a project by super famous architects (or maybe it’s just because I’m just an out-of-touch grad student… <–entirely possible). Second, it kind of sucks.

Hmm, now that I write that, maybe the first thing is partly explained by the second.

You know, though?  I mean, there are everyday things that are lovable, quirky, fun, and endearing when we see them in architecture or sculpture (the Gherkin, the bean, the Bird’s Nest, the take-out boxes … okay, I don’t think that last one’s an official nickname – but I can’t be the only one who thought it), but this is not.

A comment from designboom: “sorry but it looks like the building’s exterior sustained severe wind damage”.  Here here trimtab21.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Kathie King on December 7, 2010 at 9:27 am

    Interesting design

Leave a Reply

