Apparently it’s pronounced AH-vid.

after being poisoned by Envy:

Aglauros, maddened, feasts on her own heart
in secret wretchedness as anxious day
succeeds each anxious night; groaning, she slowly
wastes away, dissolving, just as ice does
in the uncertain light of spring.

and:

“Fortunate”? A judgment best reserved
for a man’s last day: call no one blest, until
he dies and the last rites are said for him.

-Ovid, Metamorphoses

I’m about 100pp in.  It’s pretty great stuff.  I’ve been meaning to read it for a while.  I remember my dad had a copy on our coffee table in the basement when I was a kid.  He told me what the word meant… I don’t remember much more than that.  He probably told me it was Roman, too.

Anyhow, on a lighter note, this is my new best friend:

Ahhh, how cute!!  It has a mustache!!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Dad on June 17, 2010 at 10:09 pm

    The line about no man blesed. Compare the last line of the OT( Oidipous Tyrannos)and line 928 of the Agamemnon. This is a recurring theme. Translations vary and I remember it as something like, “count no man blessed until he dies then he is but fortunate.” (OT)

Leave a Reply

