back!

After a long hiatus, due primarily to my being at home in MI with a glorious 56K dial-up connection (I know, don’t be too jealous), I’m back in PVD which means back in action, both work-wise and blog-wise.

I got to drive around a lot in the manual, which was fun.  Also fun because nobody here listens to pop radio, so I really fill up when I’m home.  95.5 KISS FM is where it’s at.

All this listening to a Top 40 station has led me to some reflections about the current state of pop music, which I’ll now force on my readership.

1. I was really disheartened a few years ago when Top 40 went from rap to largely bland r&b.  But now it seems to be moving in an electro-pop direction, and I’ll tell you, I couldn’t be more pleased.

2. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: Lady Gaga, man or not, is utterly fantastic.

3. The song “Forever” reinforces what I’ve always known: Kanye West is a terrible rapper.  (His rhyme schemes range from AAAAAA…  to the more sophisticated AABBCC… And what respectable lyricist would rhyme these two lines: “Just remember that you talkin’ to me though/You need to watch the way you talkin’ to me though” ?  Really, that’s all you’ve got?)  And the Eminem verse in that song is especially awesome, which just makes him look that much worse.  And I can’t believe he compares himself to Slick Rick.  Ugh, ridiculous.

4. Beyonce has still got it.  And the fact that she and Lady Gaga have a collaboration, I can’t describe how happy it makes me.

5. I’m so happy Britney Spears had a comeback.  I thought it before, but my happiness continues.

6. Providence pop radio sucks.  I’m going to start streaming from Chicago or Detroit.  I didn’t think there was any variation in the KISS FM incarnations until I started moving around more… there’s huge variation.  Immense, truly.  (Much like the Jack-Mike-Doug-etc FM’s.)

Well, that’s it for now.  More about holidays soon.  This post alone took me days to compose because I can’t condone all the time it requires me to spend away from my open Word documents.  :(

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Aunt Kathie on January 13, 2010 at 11:31 am

    Lady GaGa in Detroit last night and tonight – I have friends who went last night

  2. Posted by okalexk on January 16, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    oh man!!! did they love it?? that’s so great… i wish i could have gone!!!

Leave a Reply

