chicago and lollapalooza!

Well, well, Chicago, we meet again.

I got here Wednesday night.  I miss Chicago.  I miss being in a no-nonsense city, by which I mean one that is unapologetically citylike.  And it’s got a killer skyline (even a few new skyscrapers, some of which I really like!).  (Wow, that was a lot of compound words.)

Wednesday, I had dinner with Mark and Raghuvir, two close college friends.  Then we got Italian Ice on Taylor Street.  It was nice.

Thursday I went to the new modern wing on the museum.  I love Renzo Piano, the architect, so I was pretty excited.  And it didn’t disappoint.  They expanded their architecture and design collection (or at least the amount of it displayed), so that was really fun to see.  They have a really cool exhibition right now (click image to go to site):

front and back/"verso"

Then Mark, Raghuvir, Jason (another friend), his sister, and I had a classy picnic at a free jazz concert in Millennium Park, at Gehry’s Pritzker Pavilion.  Wine, cheese, olives, couscous salad… so classy.  Then we saw the new friends of the bean.  I normally hate Zaha Hadid (I know; it’s controversial), but I like this one.

Friday: Lollapalooza, Day 1.  Mark and I hung out a bit before going over.  He’s got a knee injury (torn ACL… no joking matter), so he’s taking it somewhat easy.  It was really rainy, so we needed rain gear… and I made this hat out of a plastic bag that received a truly unbelievable numbers of looks and comments.  People were pointing and elbowing their friends and asking to take pictures of me… or sometimes not asking.  Totally nuts.  Right before Depeche Mode (who, incidentally, were totally awesome), this guy who said he was from Spin Magazine (Spin Earth…?) asked to do a video interview with me… and just asked me about the hat.  We thought he might’ve just been some random skeevy guy (although in all fairness he was really nice and polite), but lo and behold:

clicky for video!

clicky for video!

Go check it out!  It is (perhaps as you read this, was) posted on their frontpage for Lollapalooza!  So anyhow, that’s me.  Interviewed by Evan… haha.

As for shows, it was pretty fun.  There’s a tent that’s all DJ-ed house/dance/etc. all the time, so I’m defaulting there if nobody else especially tantalizing is on.  Anyway, that’s definitely where the party’s at.  Very awesome indeed.

Mark had an after party, and a couple of college friends I hadn’t seen in a long time came.  It was really nice seeing them, hooray!  Today should be good.  Less rainy and lots of exciting bands!

p.s. They renamed the Sears Tower!  T.T

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by tim on August 8, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    thats a great hat!

  2. Posted by Mark on August 12, 2009 at 12:31 am

    Yes! Blog cameo!

    Also, you neglected to mention that one of our bottles of wine had a screw off cap.

  3. Posted by Yolanda on August 18, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    Hi I like your plastic hat, very creative.

Leave a Reply

