red doors, green tomatoes, and david bowie

There are a lot of houses with red front doors in Providence.  I smell a RISD photography thesis project.  Nic’s research reveals that there are many theories behind this phenomenon.  Maybe I was just particularly unobservant before I moved here (though I can’t imagine that that’s the case, given my once borderline obsession with architecture…), but I never noticed red front doors being a thing until I moved here.  I mean, I’ve seen houses with red front doors before, but nothing like this.

Comfort food makes me feel better.

risotto, mmm

I went shopping in Seekonk yesterday and got a mint-colored tomato… it’s like the one on the left here, except a little lighter.  Adorable.

Also, Leslie (best friend, Michigan, photographer) posted the pictures she took of me over winter break.  They’re up on her MySpace account… pretty wild stuff.  Check it out if you’re prepared to see me dressed to the nines wearing lots of makeup and no glasses.  Shameless plug: While you’re there, take a look at her other pictures if you can.

This song takes me back to the summer of 1993, some weird building in Holly where they held Latch Key… Also this song.  God, the nostalgia is overwhelming.  Salt N Pepa is so awesome.  “Girls, what’s my weakness?–Men!”  You got it.  There’s even a Labyrinth shout-out.  Awesome.  I can’t believe people showed that movie to kids.  (My theory: Jim Henson’s happiness had to go into certain muppets… all the unhappy feelings went into other muppets, and thus Labyrinth and The Dark Crystal were born.)  And there seems to be a disturbing cult of people who create YouTube music videos dedicated to the complex relationship between David Bowie and Jennifer Connelly.  The internet is amazing.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by mom on March 27, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    Red doors in China symbolize prosperity, I am not sure why red doors in RI. By the way your comfort food looks very much like my fried rice, very colorful, I bet it tasted as good as it looked. The green tomato with a little pepper attached to it looks so darling, some people are very gifted with crafts.
    Your pictures that leslie posted are so bold, you look like girls in the entertaining magazines with heavy make-up and big hair-do. Your pictures show a very different side of you: seductive, attractive and very femanine. Well, photographic image does not tell all.

Leave a Reply

