“…effecting through pity and fear the purification of such emotions.”

My god.

I just watched the first Decalogue movie, and it was so. sad.  I can’t believe how sad it was!

It’s a series of ten movies by Krzysztof Kieslowski, each an hour long and based on one of the Ten Commandments.  Anyway, a movie hasn’t made me that sad in a long time.  I could see the awful outcome miles away, but it still ripped my heart out.  It was a real Aristotelian tragedy–pretty good people, hamartia, bad luck.  Pity and fear is right!  Yeesh.

In other news, classes are going well.  It’s cold and snowy and icy.  It’s back to Ilex (flower shop, website pretty accurate, though not updated for a few years…) next Friday for Valentine’s Day help.  Then I get to visit Asa!  Brown gives us a four-day weekend (because of Presidents’ Day, I guess?).  Also, I have a ton of work to do.  So I guess I better get down to it.

Leave a Reply

